Published on 07.05.2023

Think big and beautiful for Alnwick Courtyard and Patio Festival 2023

In the fourth year of the Alnwick Patio and Courtyard Festival the organisers are asking residents of Alnwick to think big and beautiful as the town also prepares for judging in the national Britain in Bloom competition.

Carlo Biagioni explains: “We are delighted to announce the dates of this year’s festival – Friday August 4th, to Sunday August 6th – and we are hoping to attract more entries as Alnwick is also entering the prestigious Britain in Bloom event.”

“Our Patio and Courtyard competition Courtyard has three categories for people to enter: private patio or courtyard, communal or group patio/courtyard and business patio/courtyard – this category includes public houses, restaurants, hotels and B&B’s.”

“Entrants are invited to show their gardens, which are often hidden from public view to the public during the festival. We encourage this aspect of the event as the gardeners can fundraise for charity if they wish by selling refreshments or gifts and there is a great atmosphere as people tour round the entries and chat with the growers.”

“I know that Alnwick has many beautiful gardens that are normally hidden from view and I want to encourage anyone and everyone who has a patio or yard where they tend their plants to enter the competition and let people have a little peek at their secret oasis.”

This year’s event has three sponsors, and the winner of each category will receive £100. The overall winner will receive the Alnwick in Bloom Shield.

The festival and competition are being promoted by Alnwick Garden Town Trust supported by Alnwick Community Trust, Alnwick in Bloom, Alnwick Garden, Alnwick Tourism Association, Alnwick Music Festival and Alnwick Town Council.

The festival will run from Friday August 4th to Sunday August 6th between 11am-4pm and a map will be produced showing the public where the gardens are.

For details on how to enter please email: or phone David Taylor on 07809467126

Pictured: Some of last year’s winners